Opinions
others / www.youtube.com2022-11-21

Your Personal Remix – Facundo Giuliani, Remix Conf Europe 2022

Remix Conf Europe 2022 #RemixConfEU #GitNation Website – https://remixconf.eu/ Follow the link to watch the full version of all the conference talks, QnA’s with speakers and hands-on workshop recordings → https://portal.gitnation.org/events/remix-conf-europe-2022/ Talk: Your Personal Remix Here and there, people talk about "Personalization". Content creators, marketers, designers, and product owners evaluate the possibilities and alternatives to handle custom scenarios while offering powerful experiences to the users. And we, the developers, have some ways to help with that. Let's talk about personalization, the benefits, the challenges, and how we can manage and offer personalized experiences in our Remix projects. This event would not take place without the support of sponsors: 🏆 Platinum Sponsors Focus Reactive → https://focusreactive.com/ 🥇 Gold Sponsors Storyblok → https://www.storyblok.com/ 🥈 Silver Sponsors Netlify → https://www.netlify.com/

others / www.youtube.com2022-11-21

Remixing How We Give – Sergio Xalambrí, Remix Conf Europe 2022

Remix Conf Europe 2022 #RemixConfEU #GitNation Website – https://remixconf.eu/ Follow the link to watch the full version of all the conference talks, QnA’s with speakers and hands-on workshop recordings → https://portal.gitnation.org/events/remix-conf-europe-2022/ Talk: Remixing How We Give A review of how we're using Remix at Daffy.org to change the way people give to charities. We'll talk about why we decided to use Remix, how we've used it and migrated from our previous frontend application and some patterns and libraries we have developed internally. This event would not take place without the support of sponsors: 🏆 Platinum Sponsors Focus Reactive → https://focusreactive.com/ 🥇 Gold Sponsors Storyblok → https://www.storyblok.com/ 🥈 Silver Sponsors Netlify → https://www.netlify.com/

others / www.youtube.com2022-11-21

Full Stack Components – Kent C. Dodds, Remix Conf Europe 2022

Remix Conf Europe 2022 #RemixConfEU #GitNation Website – https://remixconf.eu/ Follow the link to watch the full version of all the conference talks, QnA’s with speakers and hands-on workshop recordings → https://portal.gitnation.org/events/remix-conf-europe-2022/ Talk: Full Stack Components In this talk, Kent will demonstrate how Remix enables you to build complex UI components that are connected to a backend in the simplest and most powerful way you've ever seen. Leaving you time to chill with your family or whatever else you do for fun 😎. This event would not take place without the support of sponsors: 🏆 Platinum Sponsors Focus Reactive → https://focusreactive.com/ 🥇 Gold Sponsors Storyblok → https://www.storyblok.com/ 🥈 Silver Sponsors Netlify → https://www.netlify.com/

others / www.youtube.com2022-11-21

Fire-side chat on Remix, Remix Conf Europe 2022

Remix Conf Europe 2022 #RemixConfEU #GitNation Website – https://remixconf.eu/ Follow the link to watch the full version of all the conference talks, QnA’s with speakers and hands-on workshop recordings → https://portal.gitnation.org/events/remix-conf-europe-2022/ This event would not take place without the support of sponsors: 🏆 Platinum Sponsors Focus Reactive → https://focusreactive.com/ 🥇 Gold Sponsors Storyblok → https://www.storyblok.com/ 🥈 Silver Sponsors Netlify → https://www.netlify.com/

others / www.youtube.com2022-11-21

Remix Flat Routes – An Evolution in Routing – Michael Carter, Remix Conf Europe 2022

Remix Conf Europe 2022 #RemixConfEU #GitNation Website – https://remixconf.eu/ Follow the link to watch the full version of all the conference talks, QnA’s with speakers and hands-on workshop recordings → https://portal.gitnation.org/events/remix-conf-europe-2022/ Talk: Remix Flat Routes – An Evolution in Routing This talk introduces the new Flat Routes convention that will most likely be the default in a future version of Remix. It simplifies the existing convention as well as gives you new capabilities. This event would not take place without the support of sponsors: 🏆 Platinum Sponsors Focus Reactive → https://focusreactive.com/ 🥇 Gold Sponsors Storyblok → https://www.storyblok.com/ 🥈 Silver Sponsors Netlify → https://www.netlify.com/

others / www.youtube.com2022-11-18

Remix Conf Europe – The Blues Track (free)

Live stream of Remix Conf Europe #RemixConfEU #GitNation The Blues Track – see full agenda here https://remixconf.eu/#schedule To join The Indie Track see tickets options here https://remixconf.eu/#tickets Join Discord for chatting with the community and ask questions to speakers: https://discord.gg/jcXUrRZCQY This event would not take place without the support of sponsors: 🏆 Platinum Sponsors Focus Reactive → https://focusreactive.com/ 🥇 Gold Sponsors Storyblok → https://www.storyblok.com/ 🥈 Silver Sponsors Netlify → https://www.netlify.com/

others / www.youtube.com2022-11-08

Build Better Websites With Remix with Kent C. Dodds

Event Information ​Build Better Websites With Remix ​Event Information ​​​Hey there! We have another cool guest! ​We will be joined by Kent C. Dodds to chat about what's new in Remix and how you can build better websites faster. ​Remix is a full-stack web framework that lets you focus on the user interface and work back through web standards to deliver a fast, slick, and resilient user experience. ​We all know that it is all about releasing and serving your clients. So go to market faster by combining your Remix app with a headless CMS like Strapi. ​​Agenda ​ - What's new in Remix - When should you use it - Nested Routes - Data Loading - Forms and Actions - Best resources to learn Remix - Final thoughts ​It will be fun and exciting. I hope to see you all there.

others / www.youtube.com2022-08-16

Working with Remix Form Data on Netlify

Remix is a JavaScript framework that aims to make creating a production ready application easier than ever. A Remix stack is a template preconfigured with popular tools to get you up and running faster. Netlify's templates team created the K-Pop Stack that integrates Remix with Tailwind CSS for styling and Supabase as the database. Brittney Postma is hosting with Kent C. Dodds, co-founder and Director of Developer Experience at Remix, to build a site using the K-Pop Stack, showing how form data works in Remix, and deploying it all to Netlify. Join them for a live coding session. We'll try to field questions as we go and learn how to take your sites to the next level with Remix and Netlify. - K-Pop Stack (https://kpop-stack.netlify.app/) - Netlify (https://netlify.com/) - Remix (https://remix.run/)

others / www.youtube.com2022-08-16

Supabase Happy Hour #15 - Supabase File Storage in Remix

Supabase is an extremely powerful and cheap option for building your next big startup idea. In this series, Jon Meyers, Alaister Young and Tyler Shukert demonstrate how to build a SaaS product using Remix and Supabase 💰 This week we dive deep into Supabase File Storage and Remix. We build our own custom upload handler using the experimental `unstable_parseMultipartFormData`, `unstable_composeUploadHandlers` and `unstable_createMemoryUploadHandler` APIs, and define a relationship between our entries and their uploaded files, using the Array column type in PostgreSQL. 00:00 Starting soon 00:50 Introductions 03:17 Supabase Launch Week 10:49 Supabase Hackathon 23:43 Reviewing community PR 34:40 Uploading files in Remix Action 55:30 Array column type in PostgreSQL 01:03:26 Creating signed URLs for private files 01:32:38 Displaying signed URL images in UI 01:57:23 Social links 02:01:01 Thanks for watching GitHub Repo: https://github.com/dijonmusters/happy-days Wanna have a say in what we build? Join us live every Thursday 5pm PT / 8pm ET ⌚️ Follow the Supabase Happy Hour team 🙌 🦘 Jon Meyers: https://twitter.com/jonmeyers_io 🍣 Tyler Shukert: https://twitter.com/dshukertjr 🐨 Alaister: https://twitter.com/alaisteryoung Resources 🧠 Supabase Launch Week 5 - https://supabase.com/launch-week Supabase Hackathon - https://supabase.com/blog/launch-week-5-hackathon Supabase Gold Cap - https://store.supabase.com/products/gold-supacap Supabase File Storage docs - https://supabase.com/docs/guides/storage Remix Upload Handler docs - https://remix.run/docs/en/v1/api/remix#unstable_parsemultipartformdata Dashibase's Lotion - https://lotion.dashibase.com/ Happy Chat 💬 Did you miss us building out a multi-platform realtime chat app with Supabase, Next.js and Flutter? Check out this playlist 💯 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOSrPDtvvaQ&list=PL5S4mPUpp4OvEgxBhoVxXb5YS1ZAZih2l --- Learn more about Supabase 👇 🕸 Website: https://supabase.com/ 🎥 YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/supabase 🐦 Twitter: https://twitter.com/supabase/ 👾 Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/supabase_tv 📄 Docs: https://supabase.com/docs ---

others / www.youtube.com2022-08-05

Remix Meetup July 28th

This Remix Austin meetup took place at the H-E-B Digital & Favor Eastside Tech Hub in Austin, TX on July 28th. We had 3 amazing speakers present! 00:00 Creating a Terms of Service Banner – Brooks Lybrand 11:29 Sending Emails in Cloudflare with Remix Forms – Justin Reynolds 34:42 Headless e-commerce with Medusa, Remix, NX and Tailwind – Jake Ruesink 1:21:39 Goodbye Creating a Terms of Service Banner – Brooks Lybrand The O.G. localStorage—the cookie. Remix makes it super easy to leverage these little guys to do all sorts of things, like drive the state management for a Terms of Service Banner! Repo: https://github.com/brookslybrand/tos-cookie Sending Emails in Cloudflare with Remix Forms – Justin Reynolds Remix gives you full control of your entire stack, which makes creating a service like a contact form with auto email capabilities incredibly easy. Watch as Justin runs through putting all the pieces together for a simple and free solution. Live site: https://remixdevs.com/ Headless e-commerce with Medusa, Remix, NX and Tailwind – Jake Ruesink Jake will show us how he and his team at Lambda Curry are able to effectively and rapidly build awesome ecommerce sites with Remix and MedusaJS Repo: https://github.com/jaruesink/remix-medusa Want to attend future Remix Austin meetups? Join our group to be notified of future events: https://www.meetup.com/remix-austin

others / www.youtube.com2022-08-04

Kent C. Dodds @ ReactNext 22 - Stream Away the Wait

ReactNext 2022 www.react-next.com Israel's Annual React & React-Native conference Powered by EventHandler ----------------------------------------- Stream Away the Wait: When implementing the design of a user interface, we often finish before remembering that not everyone's running the app's services locally on their device. There's going to be network latency, long running database queries, and large datasets that can slow down the experience. We can and should do everything we can to speed things up, but not all of this is within our control. This means we need to start thinking about pending states. But pending UI is terrible. In this talk, Kent will walk us through building a pending experience that is quite delightful. Ultimately taking advantage of React 18's new streaming APIs and a soon-to-be-released API in Remix to give a top-notch user and developer experience. Prepare to have your mind blown. ----------------------------------------- Kent C. Dodds: Kent C. Dodds is a world renowned speaker, teacher, and trainer and he's actively involved in the open source community as a maintainer and contributor of hundreds of popular npm packages. Kent is a Co-Founder and Director of Developer Experience at Remix. He is the creator of EpicReact.Dev and TestingJavaScript.com. He's an instructor on egghead.io and Frontend Masters. He's also a Google Developer Expert. Kent is happily married and the father of four kids. He likes his family, code, JavaScript, and Remix. ----------------------------------------- #javascript #reactjs #programming #software #development #softwaredevelopment

others / www.youtube.com2022-07-15

Supabase Happy Hour #12 - protected/authenticated loaders and actions with Remix and Supabase

Supabase is an extremely powerful and cheap option for building your next big startup idea. In this series, Jon Meyers, Alaister Young and Tyler Shukert demonstrate how to build a SaaS product using Remix and Supabase 💰 This week we implement protected loaders and actions, requiring the user to be signed in with a valid session, before they can navigate to a particular route. Additionally, we create a reusable helper function to wrap around any Remix loader or action to ensure the user is authenticated 🧠 00:00 Starting soon 00:42 Introductions 07:40 Fun facts 17:38 What's new with Supabase 25:20 Recap last week 33:30 withAuth helper 1:02:00 Fixing user for SSR 1:17:47 Entry Detail page 1:34:57 Entry Edit page 2:04:56 Social links 2:06:55 Thanks for watching GitHub Repo: https://github.com/dijonmusters/happy-days Wanna have a say in what we build? Join us live every Thursday 5pm PT / 8pm ET ⌚️ Follow the Supabase Happy Hour team 🙌 🦘 Jon Meyers: https://twitter.com/jonmeyers_io 🍣 Tyler Shukert: https://twitter.com/dshukertjr 🐨 Alaister: https://twitter.com/alaisteryoung Links and resources 🏙 CityJS Singapore (online and in person) - https://singapore.cityjsconf.org/ ☝️ 50% off Level Up Tutorials Pro subscription - https://leveluptutorials.com/pro 💿 Realtime Remix with Supabase - https://leveluptutorials.com/tutorials/realtime-remix-with-supabase 🍪 Session cookies in Remix - https://jonmeyers.io/blog/store-data-in-a-cookie-with-sessions-and-remix 🥚 egghead case study - https://egghead.io/case-studies/jon-meyers 🧙‍♀️ Supabase tips: one to many relationships - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5VrF9OVQ6rg Happy Chat 💬 Did you miss us building out a multi-platform realtime chat app with Supabase, Next.js and Flutter? Check out this playlist 💯 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOSrPDtvvaQ&list=PL5S4mPUpp4OvEgxBhoVxXb5YS1ZAZih2l --- Learn more about Supabase 👇 🕸 Website: https://supabase.com/ 🎥 YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/supabase 🐦 Twitter: https://twitter.com/supabase/ 👾 Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/supabase_tv 📄 Docs: https://supabase.com/docs ---

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Working with Nested Routes and Parameterized Routes" by Aaron Saunders at #RemixConf 💿

We will walk through a simple demonstration of a remix application using nested routes and parameterized routes. The use of nested routes helps me with component design and separation when architecting an application. Parameterized routes / Dynamic Routes contain state information that can through the parameters that are defined on the route. This provides powerful flexibility when designing your app and app's components. Putting the two together in an simple solution to be a reference when you build something amazing. Speaker bio: Aaron is an Information Technology Strategist, Thought Leader, and Diversity and Inclusion Trailblazer - Founder & CEO of Clearly Innovative. He believes technology and in his case coding is an enabler and an equalizer. Aaron has focused a large part of his career training and developing individuals who want to get into tech but cannot find the opening; through the apprenticeship program he ran at Clearly Innovative, teaching web and mobile development at Howard University, and the free technical videos on his Youtube Channel he just want to help others get a seat at the table of tech and innovation. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/aaron-k-saunders

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Remix & High Performance eCommerce" by Sébastien Morel at #RemixConf 💿

Performances are key. That statement is true for any web application but even more for eCommerce applications that convert performances into revenue. Why are eCommerce projects more complex than others? What are the key topics and the special things that you need to take into account when building an eCommerce application in 2022. In this talk we will deep dive into all the things that must be dynamic and how to achieve performances. All explained with a Remix project example. Speaker bio: Sébastien is a passionate and accomplished tech leader and problem-solver with extensive experience in architecture, performance optimizations, development, and system administration. CTO at Crystallize, a super-fast, super modern, super sexy, and super-powerful Headless eCommerce"", he's in charge (among other) of the Developer eXperience initiative. Previously, he led and grew his former web agency for 18 years working on more than 150 projects successfully and proudly implemented, deployed and maintained. Agnostic of the web technology he's using, Sébastien is also an open source maintainer active in the PHP/Symfony community. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/s%C3%A9bastien-morel

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Remixing a Symfony" by Emily Kauffman at #RemixConf 💿

In late 2020, I ran a Lighthouse test on a simple content page on Harvie, our farm management platform and Symfony app, and received a performance score of 31/100. The JavaScript bundle, the API requests, the database lookups, even with minimal UI to render, had a baseline score in the thirties! Along with customer feedback, this helped to catalyze a renewed commitment to performance at Harvie. Through numerous discussions, we walked through each step of page load, from networking to rendering, and identified where we could improve. After a year of rewrites and upgrades, our remaining detriment to overall performance was our frontend. We had been converting our Symfony twig templates into React SPA components and fell into the common problem of creating "request waterfalls", while our user had to stare at a loading screen. We needed a change, and for us, that was Remix. In this talk, I'll walk you through our team's journey with performance and how Remix has become a natural progression of that. Speaker bio: Emily is a Lead Software Engineer based out of Pittsburgh, PA. She's a lifelong learner, adjunct professor, and IoT enthusiast. Emily has a tech background in healthcare, robotics, and more recently, bringing local food to the masses at Harvie. In her spare time, you can find Emily tinkering with her homemade conversion van, scuba diving, or trying her hand at landscape photography. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/emily-kauffman

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Switching to Remix at Neighbor" by Dennis Beatty at #RemixConf 💿

Neighbor is a marketplace that allows you to make extra cash by storing your neighbors' things in your extra space. After several years of using a standard React frontend generated by create-react-app, we've decided to move to Remix. I will discuss some of the crazy things we've done at Neighbor to work around the limitations of a standard CRA-generated application, why we chose to use Remix over other alternatives, and discuss some of the gotchas and learning that came out of the migration. If you work at a medium to large business and are interested in moving to Remix, this talk is especially for you. I will mostly stick to big picture concepts rather than diving deep into the code. Speaker bio: Dennis works as a senior software engineer at Neighbor, a marketplace for self-storage, where he led the switch to Remix. While Dennis works across the entire tech stack, he's especially comfortable with systems architecture and seeing how pieces fit together. He's contributed to open source software in various ways (mostly within the Elixir ecosystem) and has enjoyed sharing some of his learning on his blog and his Youtube channel. Outside of programming Dennis loves spending time with his wife and his daughter who was born this past year, and he also skis, explores Utah's national forests, and shoots photos of the stars. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/dennis-beatty

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Outstanding Search Experiences with Remix and Algolia" by Sarah Dayan at #RemixConf 💿

Outstanding search starts with two principles: immediate feedback and relevant results. Search-as-you-type experiences have become the standard since Google introduced Google Suggest and Google Instant on their search page in the 2000s. Users not only love the immediate feedback of instant experiences, they expect it. They also expect search to be excellent at understanding their intent, even when they misspell or forget words. Services like Algolia are designed to deliver instant, as-you-type, relevant results right from the first keystrokes. But what happens when the user's network is slow? What's relevant when the user didn't express intent yet? In this talk, we'll see how you can combine Algolia's client-side search with the power of Remix's server runtime to create snappy and delightful yet reliable and resilient search experiences that serve everyone. Speaker bio: Sarah is a Staff Software Engineer from Paris, France who works on front-end search experiences at Algolia. She created the Dinero.js monetary library and hosts the Developer Experience podcast show. She's passionate about building dynamic front-end experiences, and won't shut up about TDD and utility-first CSS. She shares what she learns on her blog and at tech conferences around the world. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/sarah-dayan

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Incremental Remix" by Jon Jensen at #RemixConf 💿

Remix is fantastic for building brand-new apps. But the truth is most of us are slogging away on crusty old ones. How can we incorporate Remix into our stacks without rewriting everything? And how can we effectively sell our teams on the benefits of adoption? In this talk we'll explore some strategies that will let you gradually adopt Remix, progressively enhancing your tech stack. Speaker bio: Jon is a Senior Software Engineer (Netflix) working to improve the developer experience for other UI engineers. Previously he worked at Amazon and Instructure working on various things software-y. In his spare time, he's usually in the mountains, playing Minecraft with his kids, or following the Red Food Truck around SLC. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/jon-jensen

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Magically Create Forms + Actions with Remix Forms" by Daniel Weinmann at #RemixConf 💿

One of the beautiful things about Remix is how easy it is to enhance it to make our lives easier. In this talk, I'll show you how I built Remix Forms and how I use it to: - Code only the parts of my forms that stray from our standard UI. The rest is magically rendered for me. - Never have to think again about client-side + server-side validations, pending indicators, and focus management (with focus on the first field with error even for server-side failures!) - Get form data, validate values, redirect or return errors with one helper. I focus on the mutation, not on the wiring. - Catch any typo or mistake right away with bulletproof typing, even for custom inputs. - Enjoy the autocomplete magic that comes along with it :) Speaker bio: In order to bring his startups to life, Daniel had to go through a 9-year journey to become the technical founder and CTO he needed in his teams. However, his real passion has always been the non-technical way, and having to spend his days coding took a toll on him. When Daniel was finally able to come back to the business side, he had a secret weapon: in his struggles to leave the technical life behind, he gained a deep understanding of what it takes for a non-technical founder to create successful startups. Beyond his own journey, he's helped tons of founders build world-class products over the last 20+ years. Along the way, he was CEO, CMO, and CTO of many startups. Daniel has also founded a few successful ones himself, including Mailee, which was sold to a Brazilian internet provider, and Catarse, the biggest crowdfunding platform in Latin America. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/daniel-weinmann

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Remix Your UI & UX to Another Level" by Arisa Fukuzaki at #RemixConf 💿

Build performant web apps with a full-stack framework, Remix. Remix focuses on the UI to enjoy fast & resilient UX. Experience the "Remix magic" that enables no fetching & pre-fetch all in parallel before users make actions. As Remix focuses on UI & UX, why not share the "Remix magic" with the business users? In this talk, we're going to see together the combination of the new generation of a full-stack framework, Remix & a visual editor integrated headless CMS (Storyblok). Are you ready to explore a whole new level of experience? Speaker bio: Arisa is a DevRel Engineer at Storyblok & an organizer of a free tech skill & knowledge-sharing community, Lilac. Her mission is to learn, speak, connect and help. In her private time, she is a podcaster, an Aikido fighter, and a GirlCode ambassador. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/arisa-fukuzaki

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Full Stack Fast: Data on the Edge" by Greg Brimble at #RemixConf 💿

Why force your users to settle for either loading skeletons or slow page renders? Remix can bring your application rendering to the edge, but what about your data? Why should every request have to call back to a single database cluster in Virginia? For the best performance and experience for your users, store your data on the edge, alongside the rest of your application. We'll discuss how the original colocated server and database configuration worked, how it evolved with Jamstack, improved with next-gen data services, and how today's technology supports a new architecture altogether. But distributed systems are notoriously hard to design for, and edge-based storage is no different, with the challenges of synchronicity being a particularly difficult problem. I'll highlight the benefits of edge-based storage, how it compares to the other options, and I'll showcase a truly global Remix application built with Cloudflare's KV, Durable Objects and R2. Speaker bio: Greg is a Systems Engineer at Cloudflare working on Cloudflare Pages in the Emerging Technologies and Incubation department. Cloudflare Pages is a full-stack developer platform and they were very excited to add support for Remix at the end of last year. Before Pages, Greg worked with Cloudflare's Speed Team where he learned to appreciate the Network tab of DevTools. Greg has also contributed to the Web Almanac and numerous open-source projects, and, most importantly, he has his fingers crossed for enough snow to go skiing after Remix Conf! ⛷ Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/greg-brimble

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Expanding Remix with Rust" by Ben Wishovich at #RemixConf 💿

Remix's unique use of Loader and Action functions offers the unique opportunity to expand your data processing with Rust. Rust offers near native performance, memory safety through either the Node FFI or via compilation into WebAssembly. Learn the tricks to setup your Rust project to work with Remix, either on the server or the client, and take advantage of the most loved language with your favorite web framework! Speaker bio: Ben is a full stack web developer and software quality engineer with experience building high performance web applications. He's excited about using Remix and Rust to expand the possibilities and performance of the web app. When not coding, Ben might be found running around outside, cooking, or reading sci-fi in the sunny SF Bay Area. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/ben-wishovich

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Building Tech for Social Good with Low Code Tools" by Vic Vijayakumar at #RemixConf 💿

In this talk we are going to be talking about how to build hybrid apps that use a combination of frameworks like Remix and mixing them with no-code backends like Zapier and Airtable, so that they can be managed and modified by non-technical people. I will specifically go over how I replaced the admissions process at my children's preschool with a website and made them paperfree. Speaker bio: Vic is a Staff Engineer @ Eventbrite and indie software maker from Raleigh, North Carolina. He's a dad, runner, violinist, and is severely addicted to acquiring new hobbies. He has run the tech side of North Carolina's extremely popular Rare & Vintage Beer Festival for the last 10 years. Vic was previously in the scientific communications space and a technical cofounder of the Research Square platform, an inaugural recipient of the Fast Company "Brands that Matter" list for accelerating research communication during the pandemic. In his spare time, you can find Vic building LEGO with his family or out at the plant nursery adopting yet another plant. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/vic-vijayakumar

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Making Slow Responses Seem Fast with Stale while Revalidate" by Scott Smerchek at #RemixConf 💿

The Cache-Control header has been around since HTTP/1.1 in 1997, yet for many of us, it's not something we think about every day. The stale-while-revalidate extension was proposed as early as 2010, but was only widely supported in modern browsers in 2019. In this talk, I will show you the power of stale-while-revalidate and how you can take advantage of it in your Remix project to make your slow responses seem really fast! Speaker bio: Scott's a software engineer with over a decade of experience building web applications for healthcare enterprises from frontend, to APIs, and even infrastructure. Now Scott works at UDisc, a quickly growing disc golf company that is pushing the sport forward through technology. Scott's always favored working in the backend, but Remix is helping him to enjoy working across the full stack, once again. He's incredibly excited about the future of building web applications with Remix and the ease of deploying to the modern edge hosting providers. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/scott-smerchek

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Web Vitals: The Importance of Measuring a Great Web Experience" by Erick Tamayo at #RemixConf 💿

Nowadays, building a working web application is much more than deploying it to production. The impact on the way your app is delivered to your end-users is also important. Making your app experience better translates into more engagement, conversions, and revenue. That's why it is also vital (pun intended) to know how your application behaves, and that's where Web Vitals help us get a clear overview of how our app is doing. Speaker bio: Erick Tamayo was born in the Dominican Republic. He currently lives in Calgary Canada with his family. Erick's currently developing Metronome which is a tool for Real User Monitoring (RUM) specifically for Remix. He's been following Remix since 2020 and decided to join the community in 2021. Since then he's loved everything about Remix and its community! Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/erick-tamayo

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Remix 3D Blast" by Nick Small at #RemixConf 💿

Whether you want to progressively enhance a traditional website or build an immersive 3D experience, Remix gives us a powerful and fun framework to create with WebGL and three.js. After deploying a 3D Remix experience to production, I've found that all the patterns that Remix provides are just as valuable even when we're not rendering to the DOM. In this talk, I'll show off some zany 3D antics to explain how Remix and react-three-fiber can work together to help you build fantastic experiences for your users. We'll focus on: getting react-three-fiber set up in a Remix app; using nested routes and layouts to render a scene; moving scene state to the server with loaders and actions; streaming dynamic 3D resources to the client using resource routes; and finally, transitions and optimistic UI... in 3D! 💿 Rachel the Remix Disc will offer some nifty optimization tips along the way. It'll be a GL-and-web-fundamentals-fuelled blast! Speaker bio: Nick is a long-time dev of many disciplines: JavaScript, full-stack, native, operating systems, game dev. He's motivated by improving people's lives by finding really bad software in consequential places and making it better. Nick's been an early employee at mission-driven companies like Shopify and Devoted Health; empowered citizens and civil servants at US Digital Service, Defense Digital Service, and the NATO mission in Afghanistan; and volunteered on projects to strengthen democracy and build municipal Open Data pipelines. These days Nick lives in the mountains with his wife and kids, and he's focused on tooling to let more people write more accessible software with fewer bugs. Go Remix. Active hobbies include: constructing crosswords (poorly), flying planes (successfully) (so far), building better houses (fingers crossed). Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/nick-small

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Deno and Remix" by Ryan Dahl at #RemixConf 💿

In this talk Ryan will give an overview of Deno, a modern JavaScript runtime, and Deno Deploy, a serverless at edge JavaScript hosting service. He'll give a peak behind the sceenes at the technology powering Deno Deploy, and of course demo how to deploy a Remix app on it. Speaker bio: In 2009, Ryan Dahl released Node.js. Now, Ryan is the CEO of Deno, the company behind the Deno project: A modern runtime for JavaScript and TypeScript. Deno's deploy product is pushing this runtime in the future of modern web architecture via multi-regional deploys with an outrageously fast runtime. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/ryan-dahl

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"State Machines on the Edge" by Erik Rasmussen at #RemixConf 💿

Modeling business logic with state machines has numerous benefits, from eliminating bugs caused by impossible states to visualizing the logic to communicate with non-technical shareholders to simply communicating user flow between technical colleagues. In this talk, I'm going to demonstrate, via live coding, how to combine the strengths of Remix and XState to create a checkout flow entirely on the backend. No. JavaScript. Required. Speaker bio: Erik is an expat American living in Spain. He's the author of Redux Form and Final Form, and is currently in love with TypeScript, XState, and Remix. His day job is using those technologies to build Centered.app, a tool to combat the Twitters' and Facebooks' attempts to steal your attention, and give it back to you to be more productive in your work. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/erik-rasmussen

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Remixing Hydrogen" by Anthony Frehner at #RemixConf 💿

Let's talk about some of the headaches of building headless Shopify e-commerce stores, and how Hydrogen-UI + Remix make it better. Pre-built Shopify components? Check. GraphQL auto-completion? Oh yeah. Speedy websites? Blazing fast. Speaker bio: Anthony Frehner is a frontend web developer and architect. He likes to contribute to open source when he has the time! Anthony is currently working on Hydrogen 🙂 Anthony's recently been providing feedback on a WICG proposal for which he also spent some time making a polyfill. He's a core-team member of the single-spa open source library, he occasionally give conference talks–here's Anthony's talk at React Rally 2019–and write technical articles, and he proposed a new CSS unit called vhc which eventually turned into the dvh, lvh, and svh (and equivalent *vw) CSS units, which was very exciting for him personally! Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/anthony-frehner

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Instantaneously Interactive: Remix as a Browser Framework" by Shaundai Person at #RemixConf 💿

Your Remix app is so performant that–even without a solid internet connection–navigation on your site seems to happen almost instantaneously. Whether rendered on the client side or server side, pages load data quickly and all the information you users are interested in is on the screen without the wait. But why? In this talk, we discuss the optimizations in Remix for data fetching and rendering apps in the browser that enhance both the user experience and developer experience. Speaker bio: Shaundai is a Senior Software Engineer (Netflix) and educator based in Atlanta, GA, US. She is passionate about making programming interesting and approachable for all, and does that through her work as a course instructor (tsforjs.com), co-lead for React Robins (reactrobins.com), and technical blogger. In her spare time, Shaundai loves to go hiking, jogging, and listen to audiobooks. Find her on Twitter at @shaundai. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/shaundai-person

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"How to WebPageTest" by Henri Helvetica at #RemixConf 💿

You cannot improve what you do not measure, and measuring page performance is at the heart of providing marvellous user experiences. "How To WebPageTest" is a talk where I will demonstrate how modern profiling using WebPageTest will provide the best insights. I'll show you tips and tricks on how to interpret the results, and I'll also expose you to key features that are best in class in performance testing. Speaker bio: Henri is a developer who has turned his interests to a passionate mix of site performance engineering and pinches of user experience, which led to his joining Catchpoint Systems on the WebPageTest Team. When not reading the deluge of daily research docs and case studies, or profiling sites in his favourite tools, Henri can be found contributing back to the community: Toronto Web Performance Group meetup + Jamstack Toronto organizer, curating conference content or volunteering his time for lunch and learns at various bootcamps. Otherwise, Henri is focusing on running the fastest 5k possible (surprise surprise), encouraging a healthy lifestyle via #devsWhoRun. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/henri-helvetica

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Remix Conf 2022 Keynote" by Michael Jackson at #RemixConf 💿

Michael will kick the inaugural Remix Conference off! Speaker bio: Michael Jackson is the CEO and co-creator/co-founder of Remix. He is the co-author of React Router and a prolific contributor to open source. He is the creator of unpkg.com and gets a kick out of discussing distributed system design as much as he enjoys front-end architecture. Michael lives in Carlsbad, CA with his wife, two boys, and two girls. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/michael-jackson

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-01

When To Fetch: Remixing React Router - Ryan Florence

Recorded live at Reactathon 2022. Learn more at https://reactathon.com When To Fetch: Remixing React Router We've learned that fetching in components is the quickest way to the worst UX. But it's not just the UX that suffers, the developer experience of fetching in components creates a lot of incidental complexity too: data fetching, data mutations, busy spinners, optimistic UI, error handling, form state, network race conditions, user event interruptions, and all the code that holds it together gets pretty difficult! As we've built Remix, we've gotten a lot of practice leaning on React Router's nested route abstraction to solve all of these problems all at once. Now, millions of React Router apps in production can get the same benefits because we've moved the responsibility of knowing When To Fetch into React Router itself! About Ryan Florence Ryan is the co-founder of Remix, co-creator of React Router, and co-founder of React Training. Event production and post-production by EventLoop. Let's build your conference brand, or take it to the next level. info@eventloop.app