Opinions
others / www.youtube.com2022-08-04

Kent C. Dodds @ ReactNext 22 - Stream Away the Wait

ReactNext 2022 www.react-next.com Israel's Annual React & React-Native conference Powered by EventHandler ----------------------------------------- Stream Away the Wait: When implementing the design of a user interface, we often finish before remembering that not everyone's running the app's services locally on their device. There's going to be network latency, long running database queries, and large datasets that can slow down the experience. We can and should do everything we can to speed things up, but not all of this is within our control. This means we need to start thinking about pending states. But pending UI is terrible. In this talk, Kent will walk us through building a pending experience that is quite delightful. Ultimately taking advantage of React 18's new streaming APIs and a soon-to-be-released API in Remix to give a top-notch user and developer experience. Prepare to have your mind blown. ----------------------------------------- Kent C. Dodds: Kent C. Dodds is a world renowned speaker, teacher, and trainer and he's actively involved in the open source community as a maintainer and contributor of hundreds of popular npm packages. Kent is a Co-Founder and Director of Developer Experience at Remix. He is the creator of EpicReact.Dev and TestingJavaScript.com. He's an instructor on egghead.io and Frontend Masters. He's also a Google Developer Expert. Kent is happily married and the father of four kids. He likes his family, code, JavaScript, and Remix. ----------------------------------------- #javascript #reactjs #programming #software #development #softwaredevelopment

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Working with Nested Routes and Parameterized Routes" by Aaron Saunders at #RemixConf 💿

We will walk through a simple demonstration of a remix application using nested routes and parameterized routes. The use of nested routes helps me with component design and separation when architecting an application. Parameterized routes / Dynamic Routes contain state information that can through the parameters that are defined on the route. This provides powerful flexibility when designing your app and app's components. Putting the two together in an simple solution to be a reference when you build something amazing. Speaker bio: Aaron is an Information Technology Strategist, Thought Leader, and Diversity and Inclusion Trailblazer - Founder & CEO of Clearly Innovative. He believes technology and in his case coding is an enabler and an equalizer. Aaron has focused a large part of his career training and developing individuals who want to get into tech but cannot find the opening; through the apprenticeship program he ran at Clearly Innovative, teaching web and mobile development at Howard University, and the free technical videos on his Youtube Channel he just want to help others get a seat at the table of tech and innovation. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/aaron-k-saunders

others / www.youtube.com2022-05-25

Shipping to the Edge: Kent C Dodds

Recorded live at Reactathon 2022. Learn more at https://reactathon.com Shipping to the Edge The landscape of the web has evolved drastically since the first website was published to the World Wide Web in 1991. Over the years, the pendulum has swung from servers rendering HTML to JavaScript-heavy clients and now it's swinging toward something more in the middle.What about the web today is enabling us to overcome the shortcomings of the web of the past? In this talk, we'll get a little peak into the history of each of these stages of the web and what that means for anyone building on the web platform in the future. About Kent C. Dodds Kent C. Dodds is a world renowned speaker, teacher, and trainer and he's actively involved in the open source community as a maintainer and contributor of hundreds of popular npm packages. Kent is a Co-Founder and Director of Developer Experience at Remix. He is the creator of EpicReact.Dev and TestingJavaScript.com. He's an instructor on egghead.io and Frontend Masters. He's also a Google Developer Expert. Kent is happily married and the father of four kids. He likes his family, code, JavaScript, and React. Event production and post-production by EventLoop. Let's build your conference brand, or take it to the next level. info@eventloop.app

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-01

When To Fetch: Remixing React Router - Ryan Florence

Recorded live at Reactathon 2022. Learn more at https://reactathon.com When To Fetch: Remixing React Router We've learned that fetching in components is the quickest way to the worst UX. But it's not just the UX that suffers, the developer experience of fetching in components creates a lot of incidental complexity too: data fetching, data mutations, busy spinners, optimistic UI, error handling, form state, network race conditions, user event interruptions, and all the code that holds it together gets pretty difficult! As we've built Remix, we've gotten a lot of practice leaning on React Router's nested route abstraction to solve all of these problems all at once. Now, millions of React Router apps in production can get the same benefits because we've moved the responsibility of knowing When To Fetch into React Router itself! About Ryan Florence Ryan is the co-founder of Remix, co-creator of React Router, and co-founder of React Training. Event production and post-production by EventLoop. Let's build your conference brand, or take it to the next level. info@eventloop.app

others / www.youtube.com2022-05-19

Purge Per Route by Brooks Lybrand

Love or hate Tailwind, one thing it gets right is only shipping the CSS _you_ use. However, you still have to ship your **entire** site's CSS, no matter how big it gets or what page the user is on. Love or hate Remix (wait, who hates Remix?), one thing it does best is only shipping the CSS each _page_ needs. Remix also removes stylesheets when you navigate away, which avoids clashing styles and class names. What if we could combine these two features? In this talk I will show you how to generate only the CSS _you_ use, while shipping no more CSS than each _page_ needs? Speaker bio: Hi, my name is Brooks Lybrand and I work as Web Engineer for the best grocery store in the world (okay, at least in Texas): H-E-B! I specialize in building proof of concepts, evaluating tools, and creating highly interactive, data-rich applications. I am passionate about exploring new ideas and technologies, discovering how they can better other's lives, and guiding people to these solutions. When I'm not coding, I love spending time with his wife and dogs, camping, playing board games, and pretending I know what I'm talking about when it comes to coffee and beer. Brooks Lybrand's Twitter: https://twitter.com/BrooksLybrand Repo: https://github.com/brookslybrand/purge-per-route Statechart representation of logic: https://stately.ai/registry/editor/105a41c2-1cd9-41a9-a27a-324c71bfb735

others / www.youtube.com2022-05-19

Migrating a Rails & React SPA to Remix by Diogo Biazus

Maintaining a stack with multiple programming languages can drastically increase the cognitive load of a team. Unifying the frontend and the backend under a single language has always been a tantalizing prospect. With Remix this becomes an achievable goal, however, migrating without a big rewrite is always challenging, while migrating with a big rewrite is often disastrous. This is the story of how we are planning a migration feature by feature, using an integrated authentication system that works on both our Rails backend and on the Remix server. We also disastrous leveraged resource routes to proxy the old application and integrate everything under the same domain, making the back and forth between legacy and rewritten features seamless. Speaker bio: Diogo Biazus has been a software developer since the late 90s. Since then, he has also worked as an open-source contributor, conference organizer, PostgreSQL instructor and consultant, systems integrator (yay, EDI!), "the DevOps guy", and team lead. He has contributed to PostgREST (https://github.com/PostgREST/postgrest) and published PostgreSQL tools such as postgres-websockets (https://github.com/diogob/postgres-websockets), postgres-copy (https://github.com/diogob/postgres-copy), and hasql-notifications (https://github.com/diogob/hasql-notifications). He now focuses on improving DX at Seasoned. Diogo Biazus' GitHub: https://github.com/diogob Repo: https://github.com/SeasonedSoftware/remix-migration

others / www.youtube.com2022-08-16

Supabase Happy Hour #15 - Supabase File Storage in Remix

Supabase is an extremely powerful and cheap option for building your next big startup idea. In this series, Jon Meyers, Alaister Young and Tyler Shukert demonstrate how to build a SaaS product using Remix and Supabase 💰 This week we dive deep into Supabase File Storage and Remix. We build our own custom upload handler using the experimental `unstable_parseMultipartFormData`, `unstable_composeUploadHandlers` and `unstable_createMemoryUploadHandler` APIs, and define a relationship between our entries and their uploaded files, using the Array column type in PostgreSQL. 00:00 Starting soon 00:50 Introductions 03:17 Supabase Launch Week 10:49 Supabase Hackathon 23:43 Reviewing community PR 34:40 Uploading files in Remix Action 55:30 Array column type in PostgreSQL 01:03:26 Creating signed URLs for private files 01:32:38 Displaying signed URL images in UI 01:57:23 Social links 02:01:01 Thanks for watching GitHub Repo: https://github.com/dijonmusters/happy-days Wanna have a say in what we build? Join us live every Thursday 5pm PT / 8pm ET ⌚️ Follow the Supabase Happy Hour team 🙌 🦘 Jon Meyers: https://twitter.com/jonmeyers_io 🍣 Tyler Shukert: https://twitter.com/dshukertjr 🐨 Alaister: https://twitter.com/alaisteryoung Resources 🧠 Supabase Launch Week 5 - https://supabase.com/launch-week Supabase Hackathon - https://supabase.com/blog/launch-week-5-hackathon Supabase Gold Cap - https://store.supabase.com/products/gold-supacap Supabase File Storage docs - https://supabase.com/docs/guides/storage Remix Upload Handler docs - https://remix.run/docs/en/v1/api/remix#unstable_parsemultipartformdata Dashibase's Lotion - https://lotion.dashibase.com/ Happy Chat 💬 Did you miss us building out a multi-platform realtime chat app with Supabase, Next.js and Flutter? Check out this playlist 💯 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOSrPDtvvaQ&list=PL5S4mPUpp4OvEgxBhoVxXb5YS1ZAZih2l --- Learn more about Supabase 👇 🕸 Website: https://supabase.com/ 🎥 YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/supabase 🐦 Twitter: https://twitter.com/supabase/ 👾 Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/supabase_tv 📄 Docs: https://supabase.com/docs ---

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Deno and Remix" by Ryan Dahl at #RemixConf 💿

In this talk Ryan will give an overview of Deno, a modern JavaScript runtime, and Deno Deploy, a serverless at edge JavaScript hosting service. He'll give a peak behind the sceenes at the technology powering Deno Deploy, and of course demo how to deploy a Remix app on it. Speaker bio: In 2009, Ryan Dahl released Node.js. Now, Ryan is the CEO of Deno, the company behind the Deno project: A modern runtime for JavaScript and TypeScript. Deno's deploy product is pushing this runtime in the future of modern web architecture via multi-regional deploys with an outrageously fast runtime. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/ryan-dahl

others / www.youtube.com2022-01-11

All things Remix w/Kent C. Dodds

Juri Strumpflohner is joined by Kent C. Dodds, Director of Developer Experience at Remix and Victor Savkin to discuss the new Remix framework! Submit questions beforehand using this form: https://forms.gle/P6MZWMPzWDUMRYEWA Show Notes: 0:00 Intros 3:33 2 Minute intro of Remix 8:01 What is so special about Remix? 10:57 Remix nested routing 13:45 Resource routes 17:24 Difference Remix loaders and Next.js getServerSideProps 20:30 React Server Components 25:05 Shared state with Remix 28:45 What is Remix not made for? 31:25 Demo of the Remix Nx "Labs" plugin 49:55 Remix Roadmap in 2022 Links: - https://remix.run/ - Nx Remix plugin demo: https://youtu.be/yUuEA4V6DJ0 Docs: https://nx.dev​​​ GitHub: https://github.com/nrwl/nx​​​ Slack Community: https://bit.ly/nx-slack Consulting: https://nrwl.io​​​ Twitter Socials: Nx - https://twitter.com/NxDevTools Juri - https://twitter.com/juristr Kent - https://twitter.com/kentcdodds Victor - https://twitter.com/victorsavkin #Nx #Remix #Reactjs

others / www.youtube.com2022-05-23

Remix Conf 2022

Edited videos available on this playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLXoynULbYuEC36XutMMWEuTu9uuh171wx Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022 Chat at https://rmx.as/discord 00:00:00 Starting title 00:40:00 Michael Jackson keynote 01:10:00 Henri Helvetica on webpage test 01:35:00 Shaundai Person on remix as browser framework 01:54:45 Erik Rasmussen on state machines 02:45:15 Anthony Frehner on Remixing Hydrogen 02:59:50 Ryan Dahl on deno + remix 03:21:40 Nick Small on remix-three 03:29:20 Erick Tamayo on web vitals 03:38:00 Scott Smerchek on stale-while-revalidate 03:43:25 Lunch 05:55:00 Vic Vijavakumar on social good with low code 06:07:51 Ben Wishovich on remix + rust 06:15:10 Greg Brimble on Full Stack Fast: Data on the Edge 06:24:00 Arisa Fukuzaki on ui + ux 06:48:10 Daniel Weinmann on remix-forms 07:06:30 Jon Jensen on incremental remix 08:00:00 Sarah Dayan on search with algolia + remix 08:24:00 Dennis Beatty on switching to remix at neighbor 08:45:00 Closing Notes

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Expanding Remix with Rust" by Ben Wishovich at #RemixConf 💿

Remix's unique use of Loader and Action functions offers the unique opportunity to expand your data processing with Rust. Rust offers near native performance, memory safety through either the Node FFI or via compilation into WebAssembly. Learn the tricks to setup your Rust project to work with Remix, either on the server or the client, and take advantage of the most loved language with your favorite web framework! Speaker bio: Ben is a full stack web developer and software quality engineer with experience building high performance web applications. He's excited about using Remix and Rust to expand the possibilities and performance of the web app. When not coding, Ben might be found running around outside, cooking, or reading sci-fi in the sunny SF Bay Area. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/ben-wishovich

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Full Stack Fast: Data on the Edge" by Greg Brimble at #RemixConf 💿

Why force your users to settle for either loading skeletons or slow page renders? Remix can bring your application rendering to the edge, but what about your data? Why should every request have to call back to a single database cluster in Virginia? For the best performance and experience for your users, store your data on the edge, alongside the rest of your application. We'll discuss how the original colocated server and database configuration worked, how it evolved with Jamstack, improved with next-gen data services, and how today's technology supports a new architecture altogether. But distributed systems are notoriously hard to design for, and edge-based storage is no different, with the challenges of synchronicity being a particularly difficult problem. I'll highlight the benefits of edge-based storage, how it compares to the other options, and I'll showcase a truly global Remix application built with Cloudflare's KV, Durable Objects and R2. Speaker bio: Greg is a Systems Engineer at Cloudflare working on Cloudflare Pages in the Emerging Technologies and Incubation department. Cloudflare Pages is a full-stack developer platform and they were very excited to add support for Remix at the end of last year. Before Pages, Greg worked with Cloudflare's Speed Team where he learned to appreciate the Network tab of DevTools. Greg has also contributed to the Web Almanac and numerous open-source projects, and, most importantly, he has his fingers crossed for enough snow to go skiing after Remix Conf! ⛷ Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/greg-brimble

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Remix Conf 2022 Keynote" by Michael Jackson at #RemixConf 💿

Michael will kick the inaugural Remix Conference off! Speaker bio: Michael Jackson is the CEO and co-creator/co-founder of Remix. He is the co-author of React Router and a prolific contributor to open source. He is the creator of unpkg.com and gets a kick out of discussing distributed system design as much as he enjoys front-end architecture. Michael lives in Carlsbad, CA with his wife, two boys, and two girls. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/michael-jackson

others / www.youtube.com2022-06-06

"Outstanding Search Experiences with Remix and Algolia" by Sarah Dayan at #RemixConf 💿

Outstanding search starts with two principles: immediate feedback and relevant results. Search-as-you-type experiences have become the standard since Google introduced Google Suggest and Google Instant on their search page in the 2000s. Users not only love the immediate feedback of instant experiences, they expect it. They also expect search to be excellent at understanding their intent, even when they misspell or forget words. Services like Algolia are designed to deliver instant, as-you-type, relevant results right from the first keystrokes. But what happens when the user's network is slow? What's relevant when the user didn't express intent yet? In this talk, we'll see how you can combine Algolia's client-side search with the power of Remix's server runtime to create snappy and delightful yet reliable and resilient search experiences that serve everyone. Speaker bio: Sarah is a Staff Software Engineer from Paris, France who works on front-end search experiences at Algolia. She created the Dinero.js monetary library and hosts the Developer Experience podcast show. She's passionate about building dynamic front-end experiences, and won't shut up about TDD and utility-first CSS. She shares what she learns on her blog and at tech conferences around the world. Learn more at https://remix.run/conf/2022/speakers/sarah-dayan